Recent News

WolfPack Challenge Series Releases 2007 Schedule

By: T. J. Layne CLAY CITY, IN-The UMP Modified WolfPack Challenge Series is proud to announce the schedule for the upcoming 2007 season. The hunt for the 2007 championship will get underway with a bang with three consecutive races on three consecutive nights. It all gets underway on Friday, April 20th at the Kankakee Motor Speedway in Kankakee, Illinois. The following night on April 21st the series will travel to the Kamp Motor Speedway in Boswell, Indiana and conclude the weekend on April 22nd at the Vermillion County Speedway in …

Read More »

UMP DIRTcar Racing Makes Official Decision On Sanctioning Of Belle Clair Speedway and Tri-City Speedway

EVANSVILLE , IN – March 26, 2007 – After several months of speculation and debate, UMP DIRTcar Racing officials have announced that Belle Clair Speedway in Belleville , Ill. , will be a weekly UMP-sanctioned track and Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach , Ill. , will carry a specials-only sanction. Stan Schanter of Belle Clair Speedway and Kevin Gundaker of Tri-City Speedway were notified of UMP DIRTcar Racing’s decision on Fri., March 23. “We have taken calls from fans, drivers and anyone else who wanted to speak their mind about …

Read More »

Jeff Leka takes $6,000 home to Illinois in 4th Annual Bluegrass Bash

CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS FROM THE BLUEGRASS BASH By Chris Tilley Nebo, Ky; Jeff Leka of Buffalo, Illinois led flag-to-flag in the 40 Lap $6,000 to win 4th Annual Bluegrass Bash Presented by Hassy Chassis at the Western Kentucky Speedway in Nebo, Kentucky on Saturday March 24, 2007. 41 year old Leka went to victory lane as the third different winner of Billy Egeler’s Bluegrass Bash in the Kirkland Carpet Hovis powered Bob Pierce Race Car. After a beautiful two-lap 4-wide salute to the fans, front-row starters Joey Kramer and …

Read More »

Arpin Heads Home With Hardware, Optimism For Season Success

ROCHESTER, Minn. (March 1) — It’s been a whirlwind month for Steve Arpin. After a 21-hour, 1,400-mile haul to Lake City, Fla., from his engine builder’s shop in Rochester, Minn., Arpin got his 2007 season off to a perfect start as he swept both nights of the inaugural North Florida Winternationals at the North Florida Speedway, Feb. 2-3. With the sweep, Arpin earned a $700 bonus to bring his weekend take to $2,500 behind the wheel of his familiar No. 00 Larry Shaw Modified powered by Action Engineering. But that …

Read More »

Ray Guss, Jr. takes 8th Annual Open Wheel Modified Nationals win at East Bay!

By Jean Lynch TAMPA, Fla. — I’ve been driving for 27 years and I’ve won some big ones, but it’s been a while,” explained Ray Guss, Jr. standing in victory lane Saturday night at East Bay Raceway Park beside a five-foot trophy and the big check declaring him the eighth different winner of the 8th Annual Open Wheel Modified Winternationals. The finale to the four-night stand was a 75-lapper and once again in this series, the race played out to a surprise finish, with four lead changes and Guss making …

Read More »

Darrell Lanigan Bags $10,000 UMP Late Model Win In Friday-Night Florida DIRTcar Nationals Action

CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 16, 2007 – Darrell Lanigan might have been destined to win Friday night’s 40-lap UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model feature at Volusia Speedway Park . After all, he picked his car number, 29, in the draw for time-trial positioning. “It was a good luck charm, I guess,” smiled Lanigan after pocketing $10,000 for capturing the UMP Late Model finale of the 36th annual Florida DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop. Lanigan, 36, of Union , Ky. , slipped by fellow 360 …

Read More »