Home > Divisions > Late Models > Lady Luck Blesses Bobby Pierce in Macon Speedway Win

Lady Luck Blesses Bobby Pierce in Macon Speedway Win

Bobby Pierce
Bobby Pierce

The series returns to action on Friday at Farmer City Raceway

MACON, Ill. – July 7, 2016 – Kevin Weaver was poised to win Thursday night at Macon Speedway but bad luck sidelined him, giving red-hot Bobby Pierce another DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory.

Jason Feger led the feature early with Weaver hot on his tail. Weaver took over the top spot from Feger on lap 25 and led big until mechanical issues sidelined Weaver on lap 38.

Weaver’s bad luck was Pierce’s good luck as inherited the lead and through the remaining laps pulled away from the field.

“That’s what it takes to get this many wins. You’ve got to have luck,” Pierce said. “You can be running first and break like Weaver did. He was super fast tonight. I was just kind of waiting for the track to slick off a little bit. I was just kind of biding my time, but he was really fast. I was going to be pretty worried.”

Feger finished in second with Bob Gardner in third, Chuck Mitchell in fourth and Daryn Klein in fifth.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Friday night at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Macon Speedway; Macon, Ill.

A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 3. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 4. Chuck Mitchell (Jacksonville, IL), 5. Daryn Klein (Fairview Heights, IL), 6. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 7. Brian Diveley (Springfield, IL), 8. Rusty Griffaw (Festus, MO), 9. Joseph Hughs (Springfield, IL), 10. Jake Little (Springfield, IL), 11. Roben Huffman (Clinton, IL), 12. Dean Carpenter (Coldwater, MS), 13. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 14. Greg Kimmons (Pleasant Plains, IL), 15. Don Hammer (Clinton, IL), 16. Matt Taylor (Springfield, IL), 17. Danny Smith (Argenta, IL), 18. Kevin Weaver (Gibson City, IL), 19. MCKay Wenger (Fairbury, IL), 20. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 21. Allen Murray (San Antonio, TX), 22. Jim Black (Bonne Terre, MO), 23. Shannon Babb (Moweaqua, IL). Hard Charger: Jake Little.

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday OFF
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Bobby Pierce (8)
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway Bobby Pierce (9)
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

Check Also

OneDirt World Short Track Championship Returns to Charlotte

DIRTcar Racing is excited to announce the second annual OneDirt World Short Track Championship will …

Leave a Reply

error: