Home > Series > Summit Modified Nationals > Poel Goes Back-to-Back in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals with Victory at Spoon River Speedway

Poel Goes Back-to-Back in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals with Victory at Spoon River Speedway

Jacob Poel
Jacob Poel

CLICK HERE FOR MORE PHOTOS FROM SPOON RIVER SPEEDWAY!

By Jordan Morris

CANTON, Ill. – June 18, 2014 – Jacob Poel becomes the first multi-race winner of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, claiming the $1,000 checkered flag on Wednesday night at Spoon River Speedway.

Poel, of Spring Lake, Michigan, didn’t have the fastest car to start the 25-lap feature race. He chased current points leader Matt Goulden, who managed to grab the lead on the start of the race and led the opening 11 laps. Poel managed to overtake Goulden on lap 12 and brought Jeff Curl with him, as Goulden slipped back through the field.

Poel dominated the second half of the A-main, leading the race’s final 14 laps, and building a lead of over 2.60 seconds. Poel claimed his second checkered of the season, less than a week after grabbing his first victory of the season at Kankakee County Speedway.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Goulden, Kelly Kouski and Jeff Leka rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Poel, Ray Bollinger and Goulden.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues on Thursday night at Quincy Raceways in Quincy, Ill.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.; June 18, 2014

A-Main (25-laps): 1. 82-Jacob Poel ($1,000), 2. 12-Jeff Curl, 3. 41G-Matt Goulden, 4. 10K-Kelly Kouski, 5. 3L-Jeff Leka, 6. 25-Butch Weisser, 7. 25W-Allen Weisser, 8. 32-Donovan Lodge, 9. 32D-Tommy Duncan, 10. 05W-David Wietholder, 11. 23T-Billy Tuckwell, 12. 77-Ray Bollinger, 13. 96D-Cory Daugherty, 14. 4B-Cody Bauman, 15. 26B-JD Beal, 16. 10-A.J-Fike, 17. 21J-Joe Wagner, 18. 8-Jake Griffin, 19. 72-Brian Lynn, 20. 22X-Darrel Moser, 21. 7-Rodney Bowman, 22. 29T-Josh Tomlin.

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. $1,000
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. $1,000
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $1,500
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $1,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $1,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. $1,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. $1,500
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. $1,000
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. $1,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $1,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $1,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $1,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $1,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $1,000
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $1,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $1,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $1,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $1,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $1,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Championship Standings

Rank Car First Last Points
1 41 Matt Goulden 216
2 82 Jacob Poel 191
3 C12 Jeff Curl 180
4 77 Ray Bollinger 141
5 36 Kenny Wallace 133
6 21a Nick Allen 128
7 36 Jamie Lomax 128
8 96 Cory Daugherty 120
9 5 Steven Brooks 111
10 1g Devin Gilpin 102
11 4b Cody Bauman 102
12 32 Donovan Lodge 90
13 D1 Lance Dehm 89
14 96m Mike McKinney 89
15 25 Allen Weisser 85
16 25 Tyler Nicely 80
17 36 Kevin Hastings 79
18 5j Jeremie Johnson 78
19 35 Jason Hastings 77
20 99 Jimmy Dehm 77
21 8k Levi Kissinger 75
22 37 Devin Wright 75
23 J16 Jason Lakey 74
24 29 Josh Tomlin 73
25 71x Dave Beck 70
26 10 Trent Young 65
27 10 Kelly Kovski 65
28 6 Brock Bauman 62
29 10 Shawn Scripter 61
30 24 Mike Harrison 61
31 95 Zach Fair 60
32 3 Jeff Leka 60
33 1d Dean Hoffman 55
34 25 Butch Weisser 55
35 K37 Josh Harris 53
36 66 Michael Fox 49
37 32 Tommy Dunkin 49
38 21 Stephen Schnapf 47
39 O5 Dave Wietholder 47
40 23 Billy Tuckwell 45
41 75 Dustin Beck 44
42 12 Grant Hagan 43
43 28 Paul Miles 42
44 10 Jim Black 41
45 26 J D Beal 41
46 62 Joel Jenson 40
47 10 A J Fike 40
48 21 Joe Wagner 39
49 7 Mark Lamont 38
50 O8 Jake Griffin 38
51 37 Everett Brabham 37
52 31 Tom Bell 37
53 72 Brian Lynn 37
54 22 Matt Mevert 36
55 22x Darrell Moser 36
56 1s Brandon McDowell 35
57 88 Jordan Danford 35
58 7 Rodney Bowman 35
59 50 Tyler Weiss 34
60 69 Jim Farris 34
61 O2 Billy Lewis 33
62 20 Kyle Steele 33
63 9h Brad Barrow 32
64 27 Ryan Cook 32
65 5b Don Brantley 31
66 28 Dane Tilstra 31
67 22 Ryan Blakeman 31
68 21 Derek Losh 30
69 41 Lance Forman 30
70 96 John Meyer 30
71 89 Rick Weitekamp 30
72 60 John Wolfarth 29
73 11 Zane Oedewaldt 29
74 57 Matt Hines 28
75 83 Brandon Williams 28
76 15t Cliff Tooley 27
77 4 Tim Lewis Jr 26
78 66 Phil Line 26
79 25c Clay Lane 25
80 99 Ronnie Falloway 23
81 88 Bobby Miles 22
82 11 Justin Jones 21
83 87x Samantha Beadles 20
84 99 Nathan Deisher 19
85 14 Shawn Cates 18
86 K9 Will Krup 10
87 10 Matt Lane 10
88 84x Stan Beadles 10
89 15 Clayton Miller 10
90 1x Nathan Seale 10
91 81 Mark Cole 10
92 Z1 Zac Oedewaldt 10

The Summit Racing Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), Racing Electronics (Official Communication ), Velocita (Official Uniform),VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Joes Racing Products, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Racing Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Fluidampr, Fox Shocks, Impact Race Products, Penske Shocks, Performance Friction Brakes, Strange Oval, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal and Intercomp. 

Check Also

Shirley Commands Summer Nationals Championship Standings during Legends Week

A.E.Blair Photo, Story by Matt Prieur Summit Racing Equipment Modified Series sees four different winners …

Leave a Reply

error: