Home > Divisions > Late Models > Babb Scores Second Win of 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” at Quincy Raceways

Babb Scores Second Win of 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” at Quincy Raceways

Shannon Babb

CLICK HERE FOR MORE PHOTOS FROM QUINCY RACEWAY!

QUINCY, Ill. — July 2, 2013 — Three-time Summer Nationals champion Shannon Babb out-dueled defending Summer Nationals champion Brian Shirley on Tuesday night at Quincy Raceways to capture his second win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour”.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., used the top grove to pick up spots early as he rallied from his fourth starting position to second in seven laps. Shirley, the early race leader, built a half-straightaway lead, but within three laps Babb was knocking on his door. The two series champions battled door-to-door lap after lap before finally on lap 15, Babb moved in front. Shirley maneuvered his way back to the lead on lap 21, but contact with a lapped car while trying to hold off Babb ended Shirley’s chances of winning. Babb recaptured the lead and pulled away from the field, securing the $5,000 checkered flag.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Bobby Pierce, Brian Dively and Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brian Shirley, Bobby Pierce, Brian Dively, and Shannon Babb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Wednesday night at Jacksonville Speedway located in Jacksonville, Illinois.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Quincy (Ill.) Raceways: July 2, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Brian Divley, 5. Brandon Sheppard, 6. Jason Perry, 7. Kevin Weaver, 8. Tyler Reddick, 9. Randy Korte, 10. Denny Woodworth, 11. Matt Furman, 12. Scott Schmitt, 13. Frank Heckenast Jr, 14. Ryan Unzicker, 15. Dustin Griffin, 16. Jason McBride, 17. Mark Burgtorf, 18. Jerry Lierly, 19. Rusty Schlenk, 20. Richey Frankel, 21. Michael Long, 22. Clint Kirkham.

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain

(Aug. 17)

Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum. 

Check Also

Dirt Late Model Racers Prepping for Sunshine Nationals at Volusia

Inaugural event Jan. 16-18, 2020, takes shape, Competitor Guide posted DeLEON SPRINGS, FL — Dec. …

Leave a Reply

error: