Recent News

Tuesday Night’s Florida DIRTcar Nationals Program Canceled After Heavy Rain Pounds Volusia Speedway Park

BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 13, 2007 – Thunderstorms and heavy rain struck Volusia Speedway Park late Tuesday afternoon, forcing the cancellation of Night 8 of the 36th annual Florida DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop. UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model and open-wheel Modified action was scheduled for Tuesday night. The big-block Modifieds of the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRT Series were also slated for practice runs in preparation for a four-night meet from Feb. 14-17. With the cancellation of the week’s UMP Modified finale, Steve Arpin of Fort Frances …

Read More »

Joey Kramer Snaps Steve Arpin’s Five-Race UMP Modified Win Streak In Monday DIRTcar Nationals Action

BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 12, 2007 – Joey Kramer finally put together a flawless performance in Monday night’s 20-lap UMP DIRTcar Racing Modified feature at Volusia Speedway Park . And as a result, the Hanover , Ind. , driver snapped Steve Arpin’s five-race win streak in the 36th annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop. “Last night I made a boo-boo with tires and ended up not qualifying in my heat,” said Kramer, “so I had to come from the back to finish third. Tonight I finally got to …

Read More »

Canadian Steve Arpin Claims First-Ever Florida DIRTcar Nationals UMP Modified Points Title

BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 13, 2007 – Steve Arpin didn’t need any help. But with rain washing out Tuesday night’s scheduled UMP DIRTcar Racing Modified finale of the 36th annual Florida DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop at Volusia Speedway Park , the Fort Frances , Ont., standout effortlessly clinched the points title of the division’s week-long meet. Arpin, a 23-year-old Canadian who maintains a residence in Rochester , Minn. , claimed his first career Florida DIRTcar Nationals championship. He has been entering the annual winter racing extravaganza with …

Read More »

Earl Pearson Jr. Dominates Monday’s DIRTcar Nationals Opener For UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Models

BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 12, 2007 – There was no doubt about Earl Pearson Jr.’s superiority in Monday night’s UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model action at Volusia Speedway Park . With his new car owner Bobby Labonte looking on, the Jacksonville, Fla., star ran roughshod on the field, easily winning the 25-lap feature that opened the Late Model portion of the 36th annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop. Pearson, who turned 35 on Jan. 29, fought off an early challenge from Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., and raced …

Read More »

Ben Stephens takes UMP Modified win at Milton, FL!

1. Ben Stephens (34) 2. Shane Hebert (9) 3. Michael Robinson (05) 4. Jason Lakey (16j) 5. Mel Saffran (1d) 6. Greg Hollingsworth (008) 7. Randy Hall (10) 8. Denny Schwartz (21s) 9. John Melton (39) 10. Todd Jones (9) 11. Terry McClintock (6m) 12. Bobby Morrison (17m) 13. Rob Fuqua (3s) 14. Joe Phillips (111) 15. Ben Reed (07) 16. Chris Henigan (16) 17. John Parker Jr. (K9) 18. Matt Miley (27) 19. Kevin Cumbie (14) 20. Ronnie Graham (01) 21. Jeff LeBaube (29) 22. Greg Hopkins (25) 23. …

Read More »

Michael Robinson takes Friday night UMP Mod win at Milton, FL

1. Michael Robinson (05) 2. Shane Hebert (9) 3. Kevin Combie (14c) 4. Greg Hollingsworth (008) 5. Aaron Perritt (28) 6. Nick Poole (37) 7. Calvin Cook (6) 8. Clay Galbreath (00g) 9. Doug Rogers (15) 10. Mel Saffran (1d) 11. Richie Ginn (211) 12. Ben Reed (07) 13. Eddie Tribble (73) 14. (00) 15. Ron Tubbs (99) 16. Brandon Poppenheimer (99) 17. Jacob Hurt (02) 18. Chris Henigan (10) 19. John Melton (39) 20. Gregg Jones (32) 21. Todd Neiheiser (88) 22. Ben Stephens (34) 23. Scott Weber (4j) …

Read More »