Recent News

News & Notes From The 24th Annual UMP DIRTcar Racing ‘Night of Champions’ Awards Banquet

Springfield, IL — POSITIVE VIBE: World Racing Group Chief Operating Officer Tom Deery delivered an uplifting speech to nearly 1,000 attendees of the 24th annual UMP DIRTcar Racing ‘Night of Champions’ Awards Banquet on Jan. 12 at the Springfield (Ill.) Crowne Plaza. Asserting that “this is where the real racing is” during his remarks, Deery pointed out the $465,000-plus in cash that was distributed at the affair – “without a doubt, the largest point fund of a short track series, dirt or pavement, in the United States,” he said. “That’s …

Read More »

2007 UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model Points Fund Exceeds $200,000

Evansville, IN — A total of $205,000 in 2007 points-fund cash was distributed to UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model competitors during the organization’s 24th annual awards banquet on Jan. 12 in Springfield , Ill. The points-fund money handed out at the Springfield Crowne Plaza included $74,975 for the national points race; $56,600 for the UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals series; $37,755 for the three Region points battles; $21,900 for the State points races; $1,500 for the top-three in the Rookie of the Year standings; and $12,270 for the UMP-sanctioned Northern Allstars …

Read More »

2008 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Schedule Shows 27 Dates Over 31-Days

Evansville, IN — The 2008 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals will once again be a supreme test of man and machine. Even with four Mondays reserved as off days, the 2008 Summernationals schedule released by UMP DIRTcar Racing officials remains the most grueling dirt Late Model series in the nation. A total of 27 race nights over a 31-day period from June 12 to July 12 are listed on the current slate of the ‘Hell Tour,’ which has only two dates still in negotiation. The 27 scheduled events put the 2008 …

Read More »

Erb & Schwartz Cash In As Nearly Half-Million Dollars Is Distributed At UMP Banquet

Springfield, IL — Dennis Erb Jr. basked in the glory of his history-making 2007 Super Late Model season during Saturday night’s 24th annual UMP DIRTcar Racing ‘Night of Champions’ Awards Banquet inside the Springfield Crowne Plaza Hotel’s ballroom. As a reward for a campaign that saw him become the first-ever driver to sweep the UMP DIRTcar Racing National and Summernationals championships, the 36-year-old star from Carpentersville, Ill., pocketed a total of $46,240 in points-fund checks. Sharing the evening’s spotlight with Erb was Denny Schwartz of Ashmore, Ill. , who was …

Read More »

UMP DIRTcar Roundup Will Rock I-55 Raceway With More Than 500 Competitors In Eight Divisions

Four days of racing. Eight classes of cars. More than 500 competitors and thousands of laps. The thrilling high banks of Ken Schrader’s I-55 Raceway will never be the same after the inaugural UMP DIRTcar Roundup, the largest event in UMP DIRTcar Racing history. From Oct. 15-18, Super Late Models, Open Wheel Modifieds, Pro Modifieds, Pro Late Models, Sportsman, Street Stocks, Factory Stocks and 4-Cylinders all will have a chance to shine on four consecutive days, which include feature events every night in the Mississippi River town of Pevely , …

Read More »

Missouri’s Troy Naeger Doubled His Pleasure By Repeating As UMP Sportsman Champion in 2007!

Evansville, IN — Troy Naeger enjoyed winning the 2006 UMP DIRTcar Racing Sportsman National championship so much, he decided to go after a repeat this season. The veteran racer from Festus, Mo., made good on his goal for 2007, winning the UMP DIRTcar Racing support-division crown for the second consecutive year. Title number two, however, had a slightly different feel for Naeger. This time around he was focused on winning the national championship from the first green flag of the season. “Last year I had no intention of running for …

Read More »