Home > Divisions > Late Models > Three for Jason Feger with Oakshade Win

Three for Jason Feger with Oakshade Win

Jason Feger - Jim Denhamer photo
Jason Feger – Jim Denhamer photo

With an insurmountable championship points lead, Bobby Pierce feels relief

WAUSEON, Ohio – July 15, 2016 – Jason Feger rebounded Friday night at Oakshade Raceway, beating Ryan Unzicker who get the better of him the night before and claiming his third DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of the season.

Feger started on the outside pole and jumped out to the early lead but Unzicker ran him down and battled past him on lap 15. Feger, not wanting a repeat of the night before at Merritt, wheeled the car into turns one and two on lap 16 and took back the top spot.

Through the remaining distance Feger had his hands full with Unzicker right behind, but this time it was Feger celebrating in victory lane.

“I told him he got his (victory) last night, so he had to share,” Feger said of Unzicker. “I knew the top was good, but it’s just a lot easier to make a mistake up there… I felt like I was better up the track, but I figured, if somebody’s gonna pss me, I’m gonna make them go around me on the outside.”

Points leader Bobby Pierce closed out the night with a third-place finish as he stares at his second straight DIRTcar Summer Nationals title.

“This year, at this race, compared to last year, it’s just completely differet,” Pierce said. “Last year I just remember pacing around, thinking not to make any mistakes. We won by 10 points last year and this year we’ve got a (big) lead so… no pressure.”

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Friday night at Oakshade Speedway in Wauseon, Ohio for the first night of a double-header.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Oakshade Raceway; Wauseon, Ohio

A-Main: 1. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 2. Ryan Unzicker (El Paso, IL), 3. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL), 4. Jon Henry (Ada, OH), 5. Devin Moran (Dresden, OH), 6. Matt Miller (Findlay, OH), 7. Mike Bores (Bellevue, OH), 8. Devin Shiels (Britton, MI), 9. Rusty Schlenk (Weston, OH), 10. Jeep Van Wormer (Pinconning, MI), 11. Brian Ruhlman (Clarklake, MI), 12. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 13. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 14. Mike Benedun (Salem, WV), 15. Casey Noonan (Toledo, OH), 16. Brad Eitniear (Wauseon, OH), 17. Larry Kingseed (Attica, OH), 18. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 19. Greg Walters (Banks, OR), 20. Nick Kurtz (Greenville, MI), 21. Kent Robinson (Bloomington, IN), 22. Steve Kester (Holland, OH).

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday OFF
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Bobby Pierce (3)
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Dennis Erb Jr.
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Bobby Pierce (4)
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Brandon Sheppard
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Bobby Pierce (5)
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Ryan Unzicker
June 29 Wednesday Belle-Clair Speedway Bobby Pierce (6)
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Rain/PPD
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Josh Richards
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Rain/Cancelled
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Rain/PPD
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway Bobby Pierce (7)
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Jason Feger
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Bobby Pierce (8)
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway Bobby Pierce (9)
July 8 Friday Farmer City Raceway Jason Feger (2)
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway Billy Moyer (3)
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways Bobby Pierce (10)
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway Rain/Cancelled
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway Rain/Cancelled
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway Ryan Unzicker (2)
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway Jason Feger (3)
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.

Check Also

OneDirt World Short Track Championship Welcomes Division Sponsors

OneDirt World Short Track Championship Welcomes Division Sponsors DIRTcar Racing family reunion features over $50,000 …

Leave a Reply

error: