Home > Divisions > Late Models > Babb Wins at Iowa’s Farley Speedway for 84th DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory of His Career

Babb Wins at Iowa’s Farley Speedway for 84th DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory of His Career

Shannon Babb
Shannon Babb

By Jordan Morris

FARLEY, Iowa. – June 17, 2014 – Shannon Babb captured the outright lead on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals all-time win list in dramatic fashion Tuesday night, snapping Rick Eckert’s two-race win streak and claiming his 84th career victory at Farley Speedway.

Babb’s victory came at the expense and heartbreak of another series great, Billy Moyer, who started the 50-lap feature on the inside of row two behind pole-sitter Ryan Unzicker. Moyer seized the lead from Unzicker after the first lap, quickly separating himself from the rest of the field. Moyer dominated the race until lap 41, when bad luck struck. Moyer spun while leading in turn two after blowing a right-rear tire, handing the lead over to second-place Babb, who rallied from the sixth starting position. Babb led the final nine laps, claiming the $10,000 checkered flag and the overall lead on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals all-time wins list.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Unzicker, Eckert, Bobby Pierce and Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Unzicker, Moyer and Brian Shirley.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Wednesday night at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Farley Speedway; Farley, Iowa; June 15, 2014

A-Main (50-laps): 1. 18-Shannon Babb ($10,000), 2. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 3. 1-Rick Eckert, 4. 32-Bobby Pierce, 5. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 6. 81-Brian Shirley, 7. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 8. 98-Jason Rauen, 9. 10S-Scott Schmitt, 10. 32J-Jason Jaggers, 11. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 12. 21-Billy Moyer, 13. 5M-Mike Fryer, 14. 28M-Jimmy Mars, 15. 10P-Pete Parker, 16. 56-Andy Eckrich, 17. 58-Ray Guss Jr, 18. 15B-Brian Birkhofer, 19. 32S-Chris Simpson, 20. 17-Jim Shereck, 21. 22-Gregg Satterllee, 22. 16-Tyler Bruening

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. $5,000
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. $5,000
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. $10,000
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. $10,000
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. $5,000
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. $5,000
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. $5,000
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. $5,000
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. $10,000
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. $10,000
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. $5,000
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. $5,000
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $5,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Championship Standings

Rank Car First Last Tot
1 1 Rick Eckert 285
2 24 Ryan Unzicker 247
3 18 Shannon Babb 234
4 32 Bobby Pierce 225
5 81 Brian Shirley 216
6 B5 Brandon Sheppard 209
7 21 Billy Moyer 179
8 22 Gregg Satterlee 178
9 10 Scott Schmitt 171
10 21 Billy Moyer Jr 170
11 81 Jason Riggs 153
12 96 Tanner English 126
13 89 Mike Spatola 115
14 1m Jimmy Moon 102
15 15b Brian Birkhofer 98
16 1cj Gary Christian 95
17 28 Jimmy Mars 90
18 98 Jason Rauen 86
19 77 Jason McBride 71
20 5m Mike Fryar 71
21 20 Rodney Sanders 70
22 2 Brady Smith 51
23 B12 Kevin Weaver 49
24 77 Tim McCreadie 49
25 77 Jay Morris 45
26 7k Jason Krohn 43
27 10 Don Hilleary 42
28 74 Mitch Mcgrath 42
29 32j Jason Jaggers 42
30 42 Shawn Toczek 41
31 33 Adam Hensel 41
32 99 Frankie Heckenast 40
33 83 Scott Bull 39
34 90 Lance Mathees 38
35 25 Jason Feger 37
36 D7 Jim Letizia 36
37 10 Pete Parker 36
38 58 A J Diemel 35
39 56 Andy Eckrich 35
40 116 Torrin Mettille 34
41 11 Pat Doar 34
42 8 Bill Rezetek 34
43 58 Ray Guss 34
44 33 Kevin Cole 32
45 21 Rich Bell 32
46 32 Chris Simpson 32
47 M27 Mike Provenzano 31
48 17 Jim Shereck 31
49 7 Steve Thornsten 30
50 28 Jeff Provinzino 30
51 2 Mike Nutzmann 29
52 16 Tyler Bruening 29
53 25 Steve Lance 28
54 40 Joel Callahan 28
55 45 Kyle Hammer 27
56 6 Nick Herrick 27
57 20 Jake Meier 27
58 14 Glen Thompson 26
59 15 Caley Emerson 26
60 15 Brian Harris 26
61 33h Billy Hough 25
62 21 Joel Collins 25
63 65 Lucas Peterson 24

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing. 

Check Also

Shirley Commands Summer Nationals Championship Standings during Legends Week

A.E.Blair Photo, Story by Matt Prieur Summit Racing Equipment Modified Series sees four different winners …

Leave a Reply

error: