Home > Divisions > Late Models > Doug Drown Outduels DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Stars at Attica Raceway Park

Doug Drown Outduels DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Stars at Attica Raceway Park

Doug Drown – Jim Denhamer photo

ATTICA, Ohio — July 19, 2013 — Doug Drown made his first start of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour season count as he scored the win over title contenders Brandon Sheppard and Bobby Pierce at Attica Raceway Park.

Drown, of Wooster, Ohio, started from the pole position, leading flag-to-flag to claim the victory, but he had to hold off points leader Brandon Sheppard, who started the race from the outside of row one, and Bobby Pierce, who started fifth.

Lapped traffic came into play as the leaders reached the slower end of the field towards the later stages of the race. As Drown approached lap traffic, Sheppard and Pierce closed to the back bumper of the leader. Drown held off the challenges of the Hell Tour championship contenders, navigating the slower traffic and capturing the $5,000 checkered flag.

“I knew when I saw them not to get too excited and start spinning the tires,” said Drown, making his first Hell Tour appearance since 2011. “They’ve been pretty hot here the past month with the Hell Tour. I knew they were just as hungry, especially with their points battle going on, that they were gonna do anything they could to get the extra points and possibly the win.”

Brandon Sheppard was able to pad his points lead over Bobby Pierce after Pierce closed the gap two nights ago. Sheppard now looks to be in control of the championship, 48 points ahead of Pierce, heading into tonight’s finale at Oakshade Raceway.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Bobby Pierce, Jon Henry and Rusty Schlenk rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Doug Drown, Devin Moran, Jon Henry Brandon Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour concludes its final week of action Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park; July 19, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Doug Drown ($5,000), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Jon Henry, 5. Rusty Schlenk, 6. Devin Moran, 7. Casey Noonan, 8. Dustin Griffin, 9. Jeff Babcock, 10. Devin Shiels, 11. Cody Scott, 12. Jr Gentry, 13. Ryan Missler, 14. Matt Irey, 15. George Lee, 16. Dusty Moore, 17. Mike Bores, 18. Todd Frank, 19. Steve Kester, 20. Chris Ross, 21. Jeep Van Wormer, 22. Brian Ruhlman.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1 B5 Brandon Sheppard 1638
2 32 Bobby Pierce 1590
3 18 Shannon Babb 1393
4 24 Ryan Unzicker 1282
5 20 Dustin Griffin 1149
6 77 Jason McBride 963
7 B12 Kevin Weaver 912
8 81 Randy Korte 906
9 11 Tyler Reddick 791
10 48 Tim Lance 781

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Postponed (RAIN)
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain

(Aug. 17)

Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL Postponed (RAIN)
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Shannon Babb (4)
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Scott Bloomquist
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Cancelled (RAIN)
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Shannon Babb (5)
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Bobby Pierce (3)
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA Bobby Pierce (4)
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL Shannon Babb (6)
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Brian Shirley
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH R.J. Conley
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH Doug Drown
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts,Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.

Check Also

Steel City Support – Pennsylvania’s Biggest Racing Extravaganza from Those Who Make It Possible

SARVER, PA – October 17, 2018 – The DIRTcar Roundup “Steel City Stampede” – Over 300 …

Leave a Reply

error: