Home > Series > Summit Modified Nationals > Thomas Surges to First DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at Florence Speedway

Thomas Surges to First DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at Florence Speedway

Ryan Thomas – Jim Denhamer photo

UNION, Ky. — July 9, 2013 — Ryan Thomas made his first DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals feature start of the season an exciting one on Tuesday night as he charged from the sixth to victory.

With 36 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds in attendance for the 19th round of the six week-long tour, including NASCAR star Austin Dillon, it was Thomas, of Martinsville, Ind., who made a name for himself by winning the 25-lap feature. Thomas started from the outside of row three after finishing second in his heat race. He faced an uphill battle all night before eventually moving into the lead and holding off Matt Hamilton, of Aurora, Ind., to claim the $1,000 checkered flag at half-mile Florence.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Jeff Babcock, Austin Dillon and Kelly Craddock rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Josh Rice, Joey Kramer, Devin Gilpin and Larry Pickelheimer.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Wednesday night at Terre Haute Action Track located in Terre Haute, Ind.

NOTEBOOK

SCHEDULE UPDATE — The event that was underway on July 6 at Highland (Ill.) Speedway when rain forced it to a halt will be completed on Sunday, Aug. 25. … The rained out race that was originally scheduled for June 29 at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo., will not be made up.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Florence Speedway; Union, Ky; July 9, 2013

A-Main (25-laps): 1. Ryan Thomas ($1,000), 2. Matt Hamilton, 3. Jeff Babcock, 4. Austin Dillon, 5. Kelly Craddock, 6. Larry Pickelheimer, 7. Billy Vaughn, 8. Don Adams, 9. Pete Holt, 10. Matt Westfall, 11. Ryan Morton, 12. Josh Rice, 13. Jimmy Lennex, 14. John Rhoades, 15. Andrew Corbin, 16. Kevin Mayabb, 17. Kevin Hess, 18. Adam Hamilton, 19. Joey Kramer, 20. Scotty Kincaid, 21. John Holt Jr, 22. Devin Gilpin.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1. 16 Rusty Griffaw 452
2. 24 Mike Harrison 423
3. C12 Jeff Curl 400
4. 32 Donovan Lodge 393
5. 77 Ray Bollinger 379
6. 36 Kenny Wallace 375
7. 3l Jeff Leka 373
8. O5 Dave Wietholder 357
9. 8 Levi Kissinger 339
10. 41 Matt Goulden 327

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Cancelled/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Donovan Lodge
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL Brent Mullins
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL PPD/Rain Aug. 25
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Mike Harrison (2)
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Ryan Thomas
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Monday July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance. 

Leave a Reply