Mullins Wins DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Thriller at Fayette County Speedway

• July 6, 2013 • Comments (0)

Summit Modified NationalsBROWNSTOWN, Ill. – July 5, 2013 – Brent Mullins led for about 50 feet on Friday night in the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals main event at Fayette County Speedway, but it was the most important stretch of track as he out-sprinted race-long leader Rusty Griffaw and former DIRTcar national champion Mike Harrison to the checkered flag in a three-wide photo finish.

Mullins, of Litchfield, Ill., started the feature in the sixth position. Griffaw rode the cushion to an early lead and dominated for the second straight night. As the laps ticked down, though, Mullins and Harrison reeled in Griffaw, who ran up on lapped traffic. As the three exited turn four for the final time, Mullins kept his car glued to the bottom, Harrison went to the outside and they split Griffaw. In what could be the most exciting finish all season, Mullins barely nosed Harrison and Griffaw at the line to claim the $1,000 checkered flag.

“We just brought this car back. It’s been sitting for about a year and a half,” said Mullins, who continues the streak of 16 different winners so far in the six week season. “We dropped a motor in it, first time on the track in almost two years. You got to love it, just got to love it.”

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Rusty Griffaw, Robbie Eilers and Dean Hoffman rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Rusty Griffaw, Nick Hoffman and Cody Clark.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Saturday night at Highland Speedway located in Highland, Illinois.

NOTEBOOK

SCHEDULE UPDATES – The DIRTcar Summer Nationals event originally scheduled June 24 at Peoria Speedway that was lost to rain has been rescheduled for Monday, July 15. The event scheduled for July 18 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in North Vernon, Ind., has been canceled.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Top 10

Pos Car Name Points
1 16 Rusty Griffaw 452
2 C12 Jeff Curl 400
3 32 Donovan Lodge 393
4 77 Ray Bollinger 379
5 3L Jeff Leka 373
6 36 Kenny Wallace 365
7 O5 Dave Wietholder 357
8 24 Mike Harrison 343
9 41 Matt Goulden 327
10 4B Cody Bauman 301

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Fayette County Speedway; Brownstown, Illinois; July 5, 2013

A-Main (25-laps): 1. Brent Mullins ($1,000), 2. Mike Harrison, 3. Rusty Griffaw, 4. Robbie Eilers, 5. Dean Hoffman, 6. Cody Clark, 7. Matt Goulden, 8. Lodge Donovan, 9. Steven Brooks, 10. Matt Mevert, 11. Larry Anderson, 12. Jake Griffin, 13. Rob Timmons, 14. Brian Bielong, 15. Tyler Ratatczyk, 16. Ryan Driemeyer, 17. Everett Bradham, 18. Clark Robertson, 19. David Shain, 20. Aaron Draege, 21. Craig Kern, 22. Nick Hoffman.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Donovan Lodge
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL Brent Mullins
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Monday July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Summit Modified Nationals, U.M.P. Modifieds

Comments (0)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

There are no comments yet. Why not be the first to speak your mind.

Go Ahead, Speak Your Mind

You must be logged in to post a comment.